Skip to main content

The Institutional Assessment Committee addresses and advances effective assessment of student learning at John Carroll University. The Committee meets at least three times each academic year.


The Committee is responsible for:

  • Collaborating with the Provost’s office to ensure ongoing systems of academic assessment, including:
    • Advise and assist the Assessment Academy Action team in the development, implementation, and maintenance of academic assessment processes at the institutional level;
    • Review of institutional and departmental academic assessment reports;
    • Advising and assisting the Core committee in planning and carrying out assessment of the University’s general education programs;
    • Recommendation of changes and modifications in institutional academic assessment processes.
  • Reporting to various stakeholders and constituencies the findings of the assessment program and their implications for maintaining and improving the quality of undergraduate and graduate instruction.
  • Advising faculty, departments, divisions, and colleges on assessment procedures and methods.
  • Recommending to and collaborating with the Assessment Director to provide assessment workshops and seminars for faculty.


The following members are appointed by the Provost by position.

  • Director of Academic Assessment (staff): Todd Bruce (current chair)
  • Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning (faculty): position currently vacant
  • Chair of the Assessment Committee for the Boler School of Business (faculty): Mariah Webinger
  • Accreditation Administrator for Department of Education (staff): tbd

The following members are selected as described below.

  • Faculty Representatives (three at-large positions elected by the faculty)
    • Mary Beadle, Professor in the Tim Russert Department of Communication and Theatre (term ends 2021)
    • Andreas Sobisch, Associate Professor of Political Science (terms ends 2020)
    • Brent Brossmann, Associate Professor in the Tim Russert Department of Communication and Theatre (term ends 2019)
  • Staff Representatives
    • Angela Kreuger (Associate Registrar, selected by Staff Council)
    • Lisa Brown Cornelius (Director of Residence Life, Student Affairs representative)
  • Student Representatives
    • Carey Ann Lopuchovsky (graduate student representative)
    • Joe Clark, ’21 (undergraduate student representative)

The committee typically elects its chair at the first spring meeting each year. Meetings are open to all departmental assessment coordinators and any other interested parties.

Meeting Materials

Date Agenda Minutes Other Material
December 17, 2014   Minutes Presentation
March 9, 2015   Minutes Presentation
November 18, 2015   Minutes  
February 22, 2016 Agenda Minutes  
May 2016   Minutes  
September 22, 2016   Minutes  
October 20, 2016 Agenda Minutes  
November 29, 2016   Minutes  
February 16, 2017 Agenda Minutes  
May 1, 2017   Minutes  
October 9, 2017 Agenda Minutes  
December 8, 2017 Agenda Minutes  
March 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes (draft)  
May 10, 2018 Agenda Minutes  
September 17, 2018 Agenda Minutes  
November 26, 2018 Agenda Minutes (Draft)