Skip to main content

Charles J. Ping Student Service Award The Charles J. Ping Student Service Award was designed to recognize and honor undergraduate students for their outstanding leadership and contributions to community service or service-learning on their campus and within their community.  These students represent the next generation of civic leaders and problem solvers. The award is named in honor of Charles J. Ping, who served as President of Ohio University from 1975 – 1994.  An early supporter and Board Member of Ohio Campus Compact, Ping has been a tireless advocate for campus-community partnerships and increased opportunities for students to become active and engaged citizens. This recognition is granted annually to undergraduates at Ohio Campus Compact member institutions. Students nominated to be a 2016 Charles J. Ping Student Service Award winner compete with other nominees from across the state for two $250 Legacy Award mini grants, to be given to a nonprofit organization of the winner’s choice.  The Legacy Award mini grants are sponsored by Rotary District 6690 and the **Seretta Saylor Award.

2016 Charles J. Ping Legacy Award Recipients View the 2016 Ping Award Booklet online! James Lee, Ohio Northern University Seretta Saylor Award Winner and Reilly Reynolds, Ohio Wesleyan University Rotary District 6690 Award Winner Read more about James and Reilly. 2016 Ping Award Winners:

  • Emily Hillyer, Bowling Green State University
  • Emma Share, Denison University
  • Adam Chaney, John Carroll University
  • Rebekah Bolser, Miami University
  • Brianna Mahoney, Oberlin College
  • Ian Dollenmayer, University of Dayton
  • Caitie Shimp, University of Mount Union
  • Dylan Hammond, Wilmington College
  • Margaret Kramer, Wittenberg University
  • Stephanie Arias, Xavier University