Skip to main content
  • Edward Chavez, M.A.
    Office: E 379
    216.397.3071
    echavez@jcu.edu
  • Julian Dooley, Ph.D.
    Office: E 308
    216.397.3095
    jdooley@jcu.edu
  • Allison Frazier, M.A., B.C.B.A.
    Office: E 307
    216-397-1757
    axfrazier@jcu.edu
  • Ann McCarthy, Ph.D.
    Office: E 306
    216.397.4733
    amccarthy@jcu.edu
  • Christopher McNally, Ph.D.
    Office: E 307
    216.397.1757
    cmcnally@jcu.edu
  • Donna Rumenik, Ph.D.
    Office: E 381
    216.397.3071
    drumenik@jcu.edu
  • Elizabeth Swenson, Ph.D., J.D.
    swenson@jcu.edu
  • Melanie Tabak, Ph.D.
    Office: E 379
    216.397.3071
    mtabak@jcu.edu
Ruta Marino Profile Picture
  • Ruta Marino
    Administrative Assistant 
    rmarino@jcu.edu 
    216.397.4355
    Dolan E 301
  • Katie Huba
    Neurodevelopmental Research Coordinator
    Office: E 358
    216-397-4465
    khuba@jcu.edu

Dr. Nicholas S. DiCaprio ’54
Professor 1958-1997, Department Chair 1986-1994

As professor and chair of the Psychology Department, Dr. DiCaprio was known for his caring demeanor and his dedication to the progress of the students, the university, and the department of psychology. Blinded since the age of 9, Dr. DiCaprio did not allow his impairment to affect the goals that he set for himself. As an undergraduate at John Carroll, DiCaprio was selected by his peers to receive the Beaudry Award for his loyalty, academic excellence, and his service to the university and the community. After graduating, DiCaprio went on to obtain his masters and Ph.D. in psychology from Case Western Reserve University before returning to John Carroll to begin his professional career. In addition to being a professor and chair, DiCaprio wrote several books, co-founded the Foresight Group to assist other individuals with visual impairments, and created a counseling service entitled ‘satiation therapy.’ Unfortunately, shortly after his retirement, Dr. DiCaprio passed away at the age of 67. His legacy will forever live at John Carroll University with an award for the distinguished psychology graduate established in his memory.

popup

Support JCU This Giving Tuesday!

This #GivingTuesday, we celebrate the tight-knit community that John Carroll offers all of Blue Streak nation. Make a one-time gift of $25 or more to the Carroll Fund, and as a thank you, we'll send you a pair of limited-edition JCU socks. Click here to donate.
Give Now