Skip to main content

The Carroll News logo The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) and the Ohio News Media Association (ONMA) have both recognized John Carroll University's student-run newspaper, The Carroll News, this past year. The Carroll News is the winner of two regional SPJ awards:

  • Ryan Brown '18:  First place, Column Writing. Ryan’s entry now moves to the national SPJ competition for non-daily college publications.
  • Carly Cundiff '17:  Finalist Award, Column Writing (non-daily college publication).

ONMA awards include:

  • Omar Meza '18 and Emily Mastroianni '17: Second place, College Division, Arts & Entertainment Writing.
  • Mary Frances McGowan '17, First place, College Division, Opinion Writing.
  • The Carroll News Sports Staff: Third place, college division, Sports Coverage.