Skip to main content

The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced today that John Carroll University is one of 42 providers from 23 states and the District of Columbia to receive accreditation for their educator preparation programs. The spring 2019 review by the CAEP Accreditation Council resulted in 42 newly-accredited EPPs, bringing the total to 238 providers approved under the CAEP Teacher Preparation Standards – rigorous, nationally recognized standards that were developed to ensure excellence in educator preparation programs.

“These institutions meet high standards so that their students receive an education that prepares them to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Seeking CAEP Accreditation is a significant commitment on the part of an educator preparation provider.”

CAEP is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all institutions focused on educator preparation. Approximately, 800 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including some previously accredited through former standards.

Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles:

  1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, and
  2. Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they offer.

For more than 80 years, JCU has prepared students to teach and lead for a more just society in schools and other educational settings. Grounded in John Carroll University’s Jesuit mission and liberal arts tradition, the Department of Education and School Psychology develops candidates professionally and personally to make a difference in the classroom, communities, and beyond. To advance its mission, the DESP holds strong partnerships with over 60 schools in numerous districts throughout Northeast Ohio. Clinical experiences are vital components of the programs and contribute not only to the development of the professional but also rely on sustained engagement with teachers and school administrators to improve the lives of children.

“Our candidates, faculty, and school partners, should be very proud of the work they are doing. We’ve set a very high bar for our teacher preparation program and CAEP Accreditation validates our diligence and commitment to excellence,” said Dr. Catherine Rosemary, Professor Emeritus, who led the accreditation process. “Our candidates and their families are investing in an outstanding education program that has continually achieved national accreditation for teacher preparation.”

Rosemary co-chaired the Department of Education and School Psychology with Dr. Mark Storz and has retired after over 22 years at John Carroll University.

John Carroll University joins 41 other providers to receive accreditation this spring, bringing the total number to 238 CAEP-accredited providers from 43 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

Class of Spring 2019:

Alabama A&M University

American Museum of Natural History – NY

Brigham Young University – UT

Capital University – OH

Crowley’s Ridge College – Arkansas

Dickinson State University – North Dakota

Duke University – North Carolina

Emporia State University – Kansas

Fairmont State University – West Virginia

George Mason University – Virginia

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

James Madison University – VA

John Carroll University – OH

Longwood University – VA

Loyola University Chicago

Marshall University – WV

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Minot State University – ND

Morehead State University – KY

Mount St. Joseph University – OH

New York Institute of Technology

Northeastern State University – OK

Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Nova Southeastern University – FL

Nyack College – NY

The Ohio State University

Ohio Wesleyan University

Purdue University Fort Wayne – IN

Queens College – NY

Shenandoah University – VA

Southeast Missouri State University

Spalding University – KY

University of the District of Columbia

University of Saint Mary – KS

University of the Ozarks – AR

University of Sioux Falls – SD

University of Virginia

Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University

Walden University – MN

Wesley College – DE

West Virginia Wesleyan College

York College – NE