Skip to main content
Cleveland, OH- Robert (Bob) Dickinson, retired president and chief executive officer of Carnival Cruise Lines, will serve as John Carroll University’s keynote commencement speaker Sunday, May 17, at noon on the Rodman Hall Terrace, located on the campus Quadrangle. Diplomas will be awarded to 720 undergraduate and 270 graduate students at the ceremony. Mr. Dickinson joined Carnival Cruise Lines in 1973 and was promoted to president in 1993. He serves on the board of directors of parent company, Carnival Corporation. Travel Trade Readers named Mr. Dickinson "Travel Executive of the Year" in 1988 and again in 1999. His marketing honors include the ATME Atlas Award and the TIA Hall of Leaders designation. He was named one of the “100 Best Marketers in the Nation” by Advertising Age Magazine. He is former vice-chair for the United States National Tourism Organization and the co-author of the book, Selling the Sea, An Inside Look at the Cruise Industry. In 1999, Mr. Dickinson was appointed Honorary Consul of Monaco. He received his BSBA in management from John Carroll University in 1965 and later earned his MBA from Duquesne University. He was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Business Administration Degree from Johnson & Wales University in 1995. HONORARY DEGREE RECIPIENTS John Carroll University President Robert L. Niehoff, S.J., will confer an Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters on John Thomas Mullen and Catholic Charities Health and Human Services Diocese of Cleveland. Mr. Mullen is the Diocesan Secretary for Catholic Charities Health and Human Services Diocese of Cleveland. In this capacity he serves as President and CEO for this multi-faceted system designed for the delivery of a full spectrum of human services to the people within the eight counties of the Diocese of Cleveland. He was appointed Chair of the Governor’s Council on Juvenile Justice in 2001 and is currently serving a third term under Governor Strickland. Mr. Dickinson will also receive an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from the University. ALUMNI MEDAL RECIPENTS The Alumni Medal is the highest honor awarded annually by the Alumni Association. It is presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves in their personal lives, reflecting credit upon John Carroll’s educational efforts, moral principles, and philosophical tenets. The 2009 Alumni Medal recipients are: James D. Clark '57 The Honorable Anne C. Conway '72 Stanley J. Glod '58 Jerald J. Rachfal '60 Daniel C. Sussen '51 *In the event of rain, the ceremony will be moved to the Wolstein Center at Cleveland State University. A decision regarding a change in venue will be made by 10 a.m. on Friday, May 15. Please check the commencement web page (, the university switchboard (397-1886), and the weather update line (397-4666) for confirmation.