Skip to main content

The John Carroll University Department of Education was recently awarded the Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). JCU is one of 13 recipients of the Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement, given to institutions that provided evidence and data trends to achieve accreditation with no stipulations or areas for improvement.

John Carroll received CAEP accreditation for its educator preparation programs last summer.

The Frank Murray Leadership Recognition is named after the founding President of the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC). CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and TEAC. He was instrumental in the merger that created CAEP. In addition to his presidency, Murray also served as Chairman of the Board for TEAC and was an initial member of the CAEP Board of Directors. He was a key advocate for the creation of a single set of teacher preparation standards to unify the profession. He previously served as the Dean of the College of Education at the University of Delaware from 1979 to 1995.

“Frank Murray was passionate about education preparation, a prominent leader in our profession, and an advocate for evidence to improve education. The providers that CAEP is recognizing are committed to continuous improvement and preparing their students to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said Karen Symms Gallagher, Chair of the CAEP Board of Directors. “CAEP Accreditation is a sign of commitment to quality through purposeful use of evidence. The Murray Leadership Recognition recipients should be proud of their accomplishments.”

John Carroll and other recipients of the Frank Murray Leadership Recognition were selected from the pool of Educator Preparation Providers (EPPs) that earned CAEP accreditation in the previous year. These institutions provided evidence and demonstrated data trends with no stipulations or areas for improvement. Providers selected advance equity and excellence in educator preparation through purposeful use of self-study procedures and evidence-based reporting that assure quality and support continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 learning. These EPPs have a mission driving their continuous improvement inquiry, use assessments that are relevant to the topic being informed and consequential, show the reliability and validity of the evidence provided for accreditation, and have quality assurance capacities that inform their knowledge and address questions about relationships in the data.

Receiving this inaugural recognition from CAEP is quite an honor,” said Dr. Mark Storz, the department’s co-chair. “It comes as a result of our faculty’s commitment to continuous improvement of all of our program. Our successful CAEP accreditation was due in large part to the leadership of Dr. Cathy Rosemary and the hard work of the faculty and staff of our department.

“This first class to receive the Murray Recognition represent the diversity and innovation that comes with CAEP accreditation. Small, large, public, private, faith-based, and historically minority serving,” said CAEP President Chris Koch. “These recipients reflect the creativity that CAEP affords in achieving excellence, by meeting the standards in a variety of ways, for the diverse populations they serve.”

CAEP Accreditation serves the dual purposes of accountability and continuous improvement. In total, 238 educator preparation providers in 43 states have been accredited under the CAEP Standards. The CAEP accreditation process evaluates the performance of providers and focuses particularly on whether candidates will be prepared, by completion, for the challenging responsibilities that educators face in America’s classrooms.Currently, more than 800 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including many previously accredited through former standards. CAEP is the only educator preparation provider recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.

Frank Murray Recognition for Continuous Improvement

Duke University—North Carolina
Emporia State University—Kansas
George Mason University—Virginia
James Madison University—Virginia
John Carroll University—Ohio
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Northeastern State University—Oklahoma
Nova Southeastern University—Florida
Boston College—Massachusetts
Northern Kentucky University—Kentucky
Southern Nazarene University—Oklahoma
Universidad De Puerto Rico—Rio Piedras Campus
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill