Skip to main content

Title IX Coordinator

Eric Butler, JD
Administration Building 128
1 John Carroll Blvd.
University Heights, OH 44118

Phone: 216-397-1559
Email: TitleIX@jcu.edu

 

Deputy Title IX Coordinators

Sherri Crahen, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs & Dean of Students
Lombardo Student Center
1 John Carroll Blvd.
University Heights, OH 44118
216-397-4423
scrahen@jcu.edu

 

James Krukones, Ph.D.
Associate Academic Vice President
Administration Building 133E
1 John Carroll Blvd.
University Heights, OH 44118
216-397-4762
jkrukones@jcu.edu

 

Leslie Beck
Human Resources Coordinator
Rodman Hall, Room 125
1 John Carroll Blvd.
University Heights, OH 44118
216-397-1726
lbeck@jcu.edu

 

Russell Houser
Assistant Athletic Director
DeCarlo Varsity Center, Room 110
1 John Carroll Blvd.
University Heights, OH 44118
(216) 397-1997
rhouser@jcu.edu

 

Ad Hoc Title IX Officers 

Title IX Officers are University employees (both faculty and staff) who are specially trained to serve on an ad hoc basis in a number of different roles.  Generally, Title IX Officers may serve as facilitators of an informal resolution process (either Pre-Complaint Resolution or Agreed Resolutions after a Formal Complaint has been filed), Investigators, members of a Complaint Review Panel (“CRP”), Process Advisors, or members of the Appeal Review Panel (“ARP”).  The Vice President of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion or designee, in consultation with the Title IX Coordinator, appoints the Ad Hoc Title IX Officers annually. 

The following individuals have received the requisite training to serve as Title IX Officers for the 2020-21 academic year. 

Aaryn Green Diversity Fellow, CSDI axgreen@jcu.edu
Adam Nichols BAS Manager anichols@jcu.edu
Ashley Wain Lab Coordinator, Biology awain@jcu.edu
Carole Moran Krus Research Compliance Administrator ckrus@jcu.edu
Carolina Kane Marketing Specialist, Center for Service and Social Action cxkane@jcu.edu
Claire Luchette Hopkins Post-Graduate Fellow in Fiction, English cluchette@jcu.edu
Emily Butler Associate Professor, English ebutler@jcu.edu
Erica Gray Human Resources egray@jcu.edu
George Lewandowski Physician in residence - Prehealth Department glewandowski@jcu.edu
Greg Farnell Assoc Prof and Chair - ESSS gfarnell@jcu.edu
Heidi Miller-Dickson Development Coordinator, University Advancement hmillerdickson@jcu.edu
Heidi Moawad Adjunct Professor- Biology hmoawad@jcu.edu
Jamie Greenwolf Coordinator of Student Wellness, Health Promotion and Wellness jgreenwolf@jcu.edu
Jeff Your Manager of Central Scientific Stores and Laboratory Support Services jyour@jcu.edu
John Scarano Director, Campus Ministry jscarano@jcu.edu
Laura Atkins Assistant Dean, Boler College of Business latkins@jcu.edu
Laurie Schneck Academic Advisor, Boler College of Business Dean's Office lschneck@jcu.edu
Lisa Ramsey Associate Director, Student Engagement lramsey@jcu.edu
Maria Marsilli Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences mmarsilli@jcu.edu
Mary Ann Hanicak Assistant to the VP for Student Affairs mhanicak@jcu.edu
Medora Barnes Associate Professor, Dept. of Sociology & Criminology mbarnes@jcu.edu
Melanie Moss Assistant Controller, Controller's Office mmoss@jcu.edu
Nathalie Nya Lecturer, Philosophy nnathalie@jcu.edu
Robin Neorr Administrative Assistant rneorr@jcu.edu
Rory O'Neil Director of Major Gifts- Development roneil@jcu.edu
Salomon Rodezno Director, Center for Student Diversity and Inclusion srodezno@jcu.edu
Shauna Payne Records & Operations Coordinator, Office of the Registrar spayne@jcu.edu
Tainne Dallas Career Advisor, Center for Career Services tdallas@jcu.edu

Training Information

Title IX Officers receive regular training on the following topics:

  • the definition of sexual harassment;
  • the scope of the University’s education programs and activities;
  • how to conduct an investigation and grievance process including hearings, appeals, and informal resolution processes, as applicable;
  • how to apply definitions under the Sexual Harassment and Interpersonal Violence Policy consistently and impartially as to consent; 
  • how to serve impartially, including by avoiding prejudgment of the facts at issue, conflicts of interest, and bias;
  • on any technology to be used at a live hearing or in any other stage of the Resolution Processes;
  • on issues of relevance of questions and evidence, including when questions and evidence about the Complainant’s sexual predisposition or prior sexual behavior are not relevant;
  • issues of relevance to create an investigative report that fairly summarizes relevant evidence;
  • other topics as necessary to adequately serve in their role as an investigator, or member of the CRP or ARP.

At the discretion of the Title IX Coordinator, the University may also retain external contractors to serve as ad hoc Title IX Officers.

Training Materials

Title IX Officers will be trained annually in August. Additional training may be offered throughout the year. Beginning in August 2020, materials used to train Title IX Officers will be posted here as training is completed. 

 


Submit a report to title ix

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact Title IX

Administration Building 127
1 John Carroll Blvd.
University Heights, OH 44118
Phone: 216-397-1559
Email: TitleIX@jcu.edu

Submit a Report to the Title IX Office