Skip to main content

Our mission is to ensure a just and united campus community while empowering the student body to live the Jesuit mission of leadership and service.

The Student Government strives to uphold the values of and represent the needs of the student body. We welcome every individual’s opinion and want students to express their concerns to us. We will gladly listen to you express your opinion about your University. Student Government has a voice and can be heard on nearly all University committees, including the Board of Directors and University Planning Group. We use this representation to better the lives of YOU, the John Carroll students.

If you are interested in becoming more involved with your student government, feel free to attend any Senate meeting held every Tuesday at 5 p.m. in the Murphy Room of DJ Lombardo Student Center. Elections for executive board positions and senate seats take place each November and December.

Let the organization that represents YOU hear YOUR VOICE!

The executive Board of the Student Government is responsible for overseeing the functions, services, and activities that the branches of the Student Government provide. They meet as a group on Thursdays at 5pm in the Student Government Office and spend many hours working individually to ensure that the Student Union keeps operating correctly and efficiently. The Executive Board is here to serve you, the students of John Carroll University. We work hard each and every day to ensure that your voice is heard. Feel free to contact us with your questions, comments, concerns, or suggestions.

President - Erin Ahern - eahern21@jcu.edu

Erin Ahern President

 

Executive Vice President - Esther Ngemba - engemba22@jcu.edu

Esther Ngemba Executive Vice President

Vice President for Business Affairs - Maya Khawam - mkhawam21@jcu.edu

Maya Khawam - VP for Business Affairs

Vice President for Judicial Affairs - Gabriella Morton - gmorton21@jcu.edu

Gabriella Morton

 

Vice President for Student Organizations - Jason Gialamas - jgialamas21@jcu.edu

Jason Gialamas VP for Student Organizations

Vice President for Programming - Jamie Durishin - jdurishin21@jcu.edu

Jamie Durishin Vice President for Programming

Vice President for Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion - Philip Scherbakov - pscherbakov22@jcu.edu

Philip Scherbakov

Vice President for Communications - Veronica Morgan - vmorgan22@jcu.edu

Veronica Morgan Vice President for Communications

The mission of the John Carroll University Student Government is to ensure a just and united campus community while empowering the student body to live the Jesuit mission of leadership and service. The Student Government focuses primarily on student advocacy, collaboration, and communication, all to achieve the desired goal of community.

Past Presidents of the organization include such well-known alumni as Tom Murphy ’67, Mayor of the City of Pittsburgh; Tim Russert ’72, NBC Senior Vice President and host of Meet the Press; Tim Cavanagh ’84, partner of Lloyd & Cavanagh Attorneys at Law in Chicago; and John Cranley ’96, Mayor of the City of Cincinnati.

Students on steps

Meet the Senate!

The Student Government Senate consists of six senators from each undergraduate class at John Carroll University, with one elected as the Class President. Senators convene on a weekly basis Tuesdays at 5 p.m. in the Murphy room.

Group of students walking in front of the Administration Building with Rodman Hall in the background in the spring

Student Organization Budget Board

Get funding for events, service or travel for your student organization through the budget board.

band playing on campus

Weekend Events

Find out what is happening on campus this weekend with the Student Union Programming Board!

fall leaves with the administration building in the background

Student Advocacy

What are you passionate about? Find out how to make your voice heard through specific advocacy committees in areas like academics, dining, diversity/equity/inclusion, residence life, and community relations.

Two Students

Where does your student activity fee go?

The student activity fee helps to fund activities that directly benefit students including social events, club sports, fitness activities, campus ministry and more!

Helpful links to get more involved with the Student Union!