Skip to main content

The Curtis W. Miles Faculty Award for Community Service recognizes faculty members who share their expertise with community groups and non-profit agencies. The Faculty Committee on Research, Service, and Faculty Development solicit nominations from JCU faculty, staff, administrators, and students and recommends candidates with support from the Center for Service and Social Action.

The award is a $1,000 cash award given to a full-time teaching or library faculty member who has made a significant contribution to the broader Cleveland community consistent with the University’s mission and goals. The award is presented during John Carroll University’s Ignatian Heritage Week in recognition of the role of service in the University’s mission.

Curtis W. Miles, a retired pharmaceutical salesperson, endowed the first faculty community service award in 1992 to encourage and recognize faculty members who reach out to the community and offer their skills and talents to agencies and community partners who need it most. Miles died February 15, 1994.

For more information about the award, contact Gerry Guest at

2020 | Debra Rosenthal, Ph.D. English

Debra Rosenthal, PhD Profile Picture

Dr. Debby Rosenthal is chair of the English Department who is a tireless champion of social justice issues both on campus and off. Dr. Rosenthal engages her teaching, research, and service as tools to awaken and conscientitize students to the cross-cutting moral and racial issues of the day. From her classroom work exposing students to marginalized voices and perspectives (from African-American literature to Women and Gender Studies, to Poverty and Social Justice), with students doing required service through the Center for Service and Social Action; to her organizing classroom visits to the legendary African-American theater Karamu House and other theater venues; to her work with the HFLA (Hebrew Free Loan Association), offering loans to low income residents, and her leadership in convening the Muslim-Jewish luncheon at JCU; Debby Rosenthal has been a model of service at JCU.


  • 2019 | Dr. Elizabeth Stiles, Political Science
  • 2018 | Jim Lissemore, Biology
  • 2017 | Thomas J. Bonda, J.D., Marketing, Management, and Logistics
  • 2016 | Phyllis (Penny) Harris, Sociology & Criminology
  • 2015 | Erin Johnson, Ph.D., Biology
  • 2014 | Tracy Masterson, Ph.D., Psychology
  • 2013 | Linda Seiter, Ph.D. Mathematics & Computer Science
  • 2012 | Gloria Vaquera, Ph.D., Sociology and Criminology
  • 2011 | Brent Brossmann, Ph.D., Tim Russert Department of Communication and Theatre Arts
  • 2010 | Paula Britton, Ph.D., Community Counseling
  • 2009 | Ruth Fenske, Ph.D., Grasselli Library
  • 2008 | Jeanne Colleran, Ph.D., English
  • 2007 | Rich Clark, Ph.D., Sociology and Criminology
  • 2006 | Margaret Finucane, Ph.D., Tim Russert Department of Communication and Theatre Arts
  • 2005 | Sharon Kaye, Ph.D., Philosophy
  • 2004 | Gerald Weinstein, Ph.D., CPA, Accountancy
  • 2003 | Sally Wertheim, Ph.D., Education and Allied Studies/Graduate School
  • 2002 | Wilhelm Bartsch, Ph.D., Classic Modern Languages and Cultures
  • 2001 | Lauren Bowen, Ph.D., Political Science
  • 2000 | Mark Diffenderfer, Ph.D., Sociology
  • 1999 | John Soper, Ph.D., Economics and Finance