Skip to main content

Ohio Campus Compact is a statewide non-profit coalition of 47 college and university presidents and their campuses working to promote and develop the civic purposes of higher education. Visit for more information.

The Charles J. Ping Student Service Award was designed to recognize and honor undergraduate students for their outstanding leadership and contributions to community service or service-learning on their campus and within their community. These students represent the next generation of civic leaders and problem solvers. The award is named in honor of Charles J. Ping, who served as President of Ohio University from 1975 – 1994. An early supporter and Board Member of Ohio Campus Compact, Ping has been a tireless advocate for campus-community partnerships and increased opportunities for students to become active and engaged citizens. This recognition is granted annually to undergraduates at Ohio Campus Compact member institutions. Recipients receive a $250 Legacy Award mini grant, to be given to a nonprofit organization of the winner’s choice. Read more here.

JCU Student Recipients of the Ping Award

2018 | Tyler Jew ’18

photo of Tyler Jew

In his time at John Carroll University, Tyler, a senior, has shown an incredible commitment to service and social justice. Not only has Tyler served with various community partners and programs in Cleveland – including the Carroll Reads Program, Cleveland Sight Center, Intergenerational School, and Griot Village – but he has also worked as a Student Liaison for the Center for Service and Social Action, helping to guide other students in service. His work this year on the Student Liaison Leadership Team has proven him a model and mentor in what it means to be a part of the Jesuit mission to be a man for others.

Congratulations, Tyler!

  • 2017 | Kathleen (KTB) English ’18
  • 2016 | Adam Chaney ’17
  • 2015 | Grace Donnelly ’16
  • 2014 | Edward (Ned) Barnes and Michael Gong ’15
  • 2013 | Kyle Hutnick ’13
  • 2012 | James Haitz ’12
  • 2011 | Catherine Distelrath ’12