Skip to main content

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2020 Curtis W. Miles Faculty Service Award! See below for how you can nominate someone today!

The Curtis W. Miles Faculty Award for Community Service recognizes faculty members who share their expertise with community groups and non-profit agencies. The Faculty Committee on Research, Service, and Faculty Development solicit nominations from JCU faculty, staff, administrators, and students and recommends candidates with support from the Center for Service and Social Action.

The award is a $1,000 cash award given to a full-time teaching or library faculty member who has made a significant contribution to the broader Cleveland community consistent with the University’s mission and goals. The award is presented during John Carroll University’s Ignatian Heritage Week in recognition of the role of service in the University’s mission.

Curtis W. Miles, a retired pharmaceutical salesperson, endowed the first faculty community service award in 1992 to encourage and recognize faculty members who reach out to the community and offer their skills and talents to agencies and community partners who need it most. Miles died February 15, 1994.

For more information about the award, contact Gerry Guest at

Recipients of the Curtis W. Miles Faculty Award for Community Service

2019 | Dr. Elizabeth Stiles, Political Science

Elizabeth Stiles Profile Picture

In her role as Associate Professor of Political Science, Dr. Stiles is known as a gifted scholar, researcher and teacher.  She is committed to student learning and consistently demonstrates a willingness to go above and beyond for her students and colleagues.  As director of the Nonprofit Program from 2007-2015, she was instrumental in bringing the program to a new level and for cultivating countless connection to the Cleveland nonprofit community. Dr. Stiles has been an active advisor to student groups who have benefited from her advocacy and support. Dr. Stiles has also shown exemplary commitment to the community through her involvement with In Motion, a wellness center founded in 2015 serving persons with Parkinson’s Disease and other movement disorders. Her commitment to InMotion has been instrumental in moving the organization to a whole new level of impact and outreach by sharing her expertise in program assessment and evaluation. Dr. Stiles voluntarily guided the staff in survey design and data collection and then stepped in to analyze all the data so they could leverage their findings. The data is given back to the clients using the center, to empower them to track their own progress, which according to the program director, has been truly amazing.  He said, “Elizabeth has been so important in our growth and development.  She has a level of sophistication which gives us credibility and the brains to back it up.  She has given of her time, and her abilities have gotten us to a better place in the service of people and their families suffering from Parkinson’s disease.” We congratulate Dr. Stiles.


  • 2018 | Jim Lissemore, Biology
  • 2017 | Thomas J. Bonda, J.D., Marketing, Management, and Logistics
  • 2016 | Phyllis (Penny) Harris, Sociology & Criminology
  • 2015 | Erin Johnson, Ph.D., Biology
  • 2014 | Tracy Masterson, Ph.D., Psychology
  • 2013 | Linda Seiter, Ph.D. Mathematics & Computer Science
  • 2012 | Gloria Vaquera, Ph.D., Sociology and Criminology
  • 2011 | Brent Brossmann, Ph.D., Tim Russert Department of Communication and Theatre Arts
  • 2010 | Paula Britton, Ph.D., Community Counseling
  • 2009 | Ruth Fenske, Ph.D., Grasselli Library
  • 2008 | Jeanne Colleran, Ph.D., English
  • 2007 | Rich Clark, Ph.D., Sociology and Criminology
  • 2006 | Margaret Finucane, Ph.D., Tim Russert Department of Communication and Theatre Arts
  • 2005 | Sharon Kaye, Ph.D., Philosophy
  • 2004 | Gerald Weinstein, Ph.D., CPA, Accountancy
  • 2003 | Sally Wertheim, Ph.D., Education and Allied Studies/Graduate School
  • 2002 | Wilhelm Bartsch, Ph.D., Classic Modern Languages and Cultures
  • 2001 | Lauren Bowen, Ph.D., Political Science
  • 2000 | Mark Diffenderfer, Ph.D., Sociology
  • 1999 | John Soper, Ph.D., Economics and Finance