Skip to main content

The Institutional Assessment Committee addresses and advances effective assessment of student learning at John Carroll University. The Committee meets at least three times each academic year.

Meeting Materials

Date Agenda Minutes Other Material
December 2020 Agenda    

The Committee is responsible for:

  • Collaborating with the Provost’s office to ensure ongoing systems of academic assessment, including:
    • Review of reports of programmatic assessment of student learning;
    • Advising and assisting the Core committee in planning and carrying out assessment of the University’s general education programs;
    • Implement and maintain processes for assessment of student learning at the institutional level;
    • Recommendation of changes and modifications in institutional assessment processes.
  • Reporting to various stakeholders and constituencies the findings of the assessment program and their implications for maintaining and improving the quality of undergraduate and graduate instruction.
  • Advising faculty, departments, divisions, and colleges on assessment procedures and methods.
  • Recommending to and collaborating with the Assessment Director to provide assessment workshops and seminars for faculty.

Appointed Members

  • Director of Assessment: Todd Bruce (current chair)
  • Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning: position currently vacant

Representative Members

  • Assessment Committee (Boler College of Business): position currently vacant
  • Department of Education and School Psychology: Yi Shang (faculty)
  • Integrative Core Committee: position currently vacant
  • Student Affairs: Lisa Brown Cornelius

Faculty Representatives (elected at-large by faculty)

  • Sharon Kaye, Department of Philosophy (term ends in 2023)
  • Maria Marsilli-Cardozo, Department of History (term ends in 2022)
  • Mary Beadle, Professor in the Tim Russert Department of Communication and Theatre (term ends 2021)

Staff Representative (selected by Staff Council)

  • Angela Kreuger (Associate Registrar, selected by Staff Council)

Student Representatives

  • Alisha Lambert (graduate student representative)
  • Megan Agresta, ’22 (undergraduate student representative)
  • Tommy Wild, '22 (undergraduate student representative)

The committee typically elects its chair at the first spring meeting each year.

Date Agenda Minutes Other Material
December 17, 2014   Minutes Presentation
March 9, 2015   Minutes Presentation
November 18, 2015   Minutes  
February 22, 2016 Agenda Minutes  
May 2016   Minutes  
September 22, 2016   Minutes  
October 20, 2016 Agenda Minutes  
November 29, 2016   Minutes  
February 16, 2017 Agenda Minutes  
May 1, 2017   Minutes  
October 9, 2017 Agenda Minutes  
December 8, 2017 Agenda Minutes  
March 1, 2018 Agenda Minutes  
May 10, 2018 Agenda Minutes  
September 17, 2018 Agenda Minutes  
November 26, 2018 Agenda Minutes  

John Carroll University participated in the Higher Learning Commission’s Academy for the Assessment of Student Learning from June 2015 through June 2019.  This page serves a repository for some of our materials.

More documents follow: