Skip to main content
Black Students in Action

The purpose of Black Students in Action is to promote the recognition and involvement of African American students, students of African descent, and students of other ethnic backgrounds at John Carroll University. The organization holds the intention of creating a strong voice on campus and to make an impact on the decisions regarding students of the JCU community.

Meets on Wednesdays at 7:30 p.m. in the Murphy basement.

Position

First Name

Last Name

Contact

President

Zakiyyah

Malik

zmalik19@jcu.edu

Vice President

Christian

Kincaid

ckincaid20@jcu.edu

Financial Officer

Audrey

Wilson

awilson20@jcu.edu

Head of Communications

Maranda

Wheatley

mwheatley21@jcu.edu

Marketing Chair

Marty

Walker

mwalker20@jcu.edu

Faculty Advisor

Sheri

Young

syoung@jcu.edu

African Dounia

The purpose of African Dounia seeks to promote the African continent, and its beautiful cultures and traditions.

Meets on Tuesdays at 6:30 p.m. in the CSDI Lounge (LSC 48).

Position

First Name

Last Name

Contact

President

Phil

Ghansah

pghansah19@jcu.edu

Vice President

Adil

Abdulahi

aabdulahi20@jcu.edu

Financial Officer

Rome

Ogeto

rogeto@jcu.edu

Secretary

Bereket

Endris

bendris20@jcu.edu

Marketing Chair

Antone'a

Taylor

ataylor19@jcu.edu

Faculty Advisor

Tamba

Nlandu

tnlandu@jcu.edu

Asian Pop Culture Club

Founded in 2016, Asian Pop Culture Club strives to introduce and inform the John Carroll Community on Asian culture and values. We highly encourage students to engage in activities that will strengthen their understanding of Asian traditions through the celebrations of different holidays and ceremonies. Asian Pop Culture Club also aims to provide a mutual ground for John Carroll’s community to address opinions on social issues pertaining to East/Southeast Asia.

Position

First Name

Last Name

Contact

President

Linh

Huynh

lhuynh19@jcu.edu

Vice President

Adriana

Nelson

anelson19@jcu.edu

Financial Officer

Ping

Mou

pmou19@jcu.edu

Secretary

Lyvia

HallmanTaylor

lhallmantaylor22@jcu.edu

Event Planner

Kitty

Yuan

cyuan19@jcu.edu

Cultural Liaison

Yanny

Sou

ysou21@jcu.edu

Advisor

Keiko

Nakano

knakano@jcu.edu

Le Cercle Français

Le Cercle Français is a space for students to discover the French language and francophone culture! Students of all levels of French are encouraged to participate. Members meet for bi-weekly events and organize trips off campus to experience French art, theater, film, and food! Email mwilliams21@jcu.edu for information on meeting times!

Position

First Name

Last Name

Contact

President

Maya

Williams

mwilliams21@jcu.edu

Vice President

Mychaela

Lauria

mlauria19@jcu.edu

Financial Officer

Mychaela

Lauria

mlauria19@jcu.edu

Faculty Advisor

Martha

Pereszlenyi-Pinter

mpereszlenyi@jcu.edu

LGBTQIA+ Allies

Allies is a group of LGBTQ+ persons and their supporters. We believe in the freedom and equality of all individuals and work to promote this in our daily lives. Meets on Wednesdays at 8 p.m. in the CSDI Lounge (LSC 48).

Position

First Name

Last Name

Contact

President

Ashley

Bernett

abernett19@jcu.edu

Vice President

Autumn

Franz

afranz20@jcu.edu

Treasurer

Justin

Spayde

jspayde21@jcu.edu

Head of Communications

Thomas

VanZeeland

tvanzeeland21@jcu.edu

Faculty Advisor

Elizabeth

Stiles

estiles@jcu.edu

Hillel

Supporting Jewish students in the expression of their identity and providing opportunities for non-Jewish students to enhance their understanding of the Jewish world. Meeting date and time TBD.

Position

First Name

Last Name

Contact

President

Nicholas

Abdallah

nabdallah19@jcu.edu

Vice President

Sean

Cain

scain19@jcu.edu

Financial Officer

Sean

Cain

scain19@jcu.edu

Public Relations Chair

Noah

Paulsen

npaulsen20@jcu.edu

Rising Student Leader

Jonathan

Peleg

jpeleg21@jcu.edu

Faculty Advisor

Gail

Arnoff

garnoff@jcu.edu

Latin American Student Association (LASA)

The primary purpose of LASA is to provide the opportunity for students of Latin American heritage and their friends to meet on a regular basis, organize activities, and increase the number of Latin American students on campus and the awareness of our presence and value to the University at large. Meets on Tuesdays at 8 p.m. in the CSDI Lounge (LSC 48).

Position

First Name

Last Name

Contact

President

Brenan

Betro

bbetro19@jcu.edu

Vice President

Gabriella

Flores

gflores20@jcu.edu

Financial Officer

Diana

Rios Guerrero

driosguerrero20@jcu.edu

Director of Communications

Celine

Rivera

@jcu.edu

Faculty Advisor

Gloria

Vaquera

gvaquera@jcu.edu

Middle Eastern Student Association (MESA)

MESA’s goal is to introduce students to the diverse cultures, people, and ideas of the Middle East. We are inclusive to all students from all backgrounds and we encourage all students to attend our events. Some of our main events include: Middle Eastern Dinners, Hookah Nights, and a bi-annual Hafleh (festival). Will meet every other Wednesday – time is TBD.

Position

First Name

Last Name

Contact

President

Ayoub

Harb

aharb21@jcu.edu

Vice President

Open

Position

 

Financial Officer

Zeljana

Opacak

zopacak20@jcu.edu

Secretary

Open

Position

 

Advisor

Mona

DeBaz

mdebaz@jcu.edu

Minority Association of Pre-Medical Students (MAPS)

The Minority Association of Pre-Medical Students (MAPS) is devoted to supporting current and future underrepresented minority medical students, addressing the needs of under-served communities, and increasing the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent, and socially conscious physicians here at JCU. MAPS is committed to providing educational workshops, medical resources, and networking opportunities to the students on campus. Meeting date and time TBD.

Position

First Name

Last Name

Contact

President

Carmen

Booker

cbooker19@jcu.edu

Vice President

Taylor

Nash

tnash19@jcu.edu

Financial Officer

Sereen

Nasrallah

snasrallah20@jcu.edu

MAPS/SNMA Liaison

Madi

Edge

medge20@jcu.edu

Secretary

Arika

Quinones

aquinones20@jcu.edu

Public Relations Officer

Ashura

Powell

apowell19@jcu.edu

Advisor

Ralph

Saporito

rsaporito@jcu.edu

Muslim Student Society (MSS)

The Muslim Student Society invites you to weekly Friday prayer service! We will be in the Interfaith Room (second floor of the library) at 2 p.m.! All are welcome to observe and we highly encourage you to attend!

Position

First Name

Last Name

Contact

President

Salmman

Ahmed

sahmed21@jcu.edu

Financial Officer

Sana

Ghiba

sghiba21@jcu.edu

Secretary

Diab

Dema

ddiab19@jcu.edu

Public Relations

Jihan

Aitelcadi

jaitelcadi19@jcu.edu

Faculty Advisor

Zeki

Saritoprak

zsaritoprak@jcu.edu

callout section header

Resources for Cultural Organizations

CSDI Leadership Retreats

The executive boards of cultural student organizations work directly with CSDI staff to strengthen their club's mission, vision, and leadership skills. Cultural leadership retreats are held in early fall and spring semesters.

CSDI Leadership Training

CSDI periodically offers leadership training on the following topics.

  • Overview of internal funding: Purchasing Card overview and budgeting format
  • Grant writing process
  • Student Organization Budgeting Board tips
  • Blue/Silver/Gold process
  • Check requests
  • Fundraising
CSDI Funding

Community Development Activity Fund

Cultural student organizations that are recognized by the Center for Student Diversity and Inclusion are each allocated $500 for the 2019-2020 school year. This funding is used to support Community Development Activities (CDA) within the student organizations. Inspired by the programming model of the Office of Residence Life, CDAs are:

  • Used to orient the executive board members (president, vice president, etc.) as community builders.
  • Activities facilitated by the executive board members (president, vice president, etc.) aimed at intentionally developing relationships and building community in their student organization.
  • Often spontaneous and may require little to no planning and preparation.
  • Not programs that conflict with other cultural student organization programming or CSDI programming; nor will CDAs take away students from other responsibilities (i.e. attending class, etc.).

Some examples of CDAs are: getting candy for a general body meeting, tickets to a culturally-relevant movie, bus passes to a demonstration downtown, small meals at a restaurant, etc. Financial officers and faculty advisors are responsible for CDA fund management.

Student organization budgeting board

All meetings begin at 5 p.m. in the Dean of Student’s Conference Room. After you submit a request form, sign up for a time on the sign-up sheet outside the Student Union office. For more information click here.

Fall 2019 SOBB dates: TBD

Funding from the Student Activity Fee is meant to serve John Carroll students and the board serves to ensure that this is taking place within student organizations. To request funding in any of the above-noted areas, the student organization shall complete and submit one or more of the following LSO budget request forms listed below.

The Operating Fund Request Form is only used to support the internal functions of the organization, such as office supplies, binders for the organizations’ executive board, and printing supplies, such as flyers to advertise meetings. Those are just a few examples. Organizations can only request up to $100 per semester. The $100 is not guaranteed to each organization; it must be requested in order to be used. Click here to see an example PDF of a completed Operating Fund Request Form.

The Program/Event Request Form is to be used for supplies, food, decorations, tickets, publicity, performance fees, or other expenses incurred while planning, promoting, and staging an on-campus event or program open to all students of John Carroll University. Click here to see an example PDF of a completed Program/Event Request Form.

The Travel/Conference Request Form is for any student organization that is sending members to an event/conference. It includes registration fee, lodging, and transportation. This form is also used for driving to an event, such as requests for gas money. Click here to see an example PDF of a completed Travel Request Form.

The Service Fund Request Form is for use by student organizations for service projects and organization needs. Some examples include executive board needs, printing supplies, and project supplies. Click here to see an example PDF of a completed Service Fund Request Form.

CSDI-Recognized cultural student organization

Not all cultural student organizations are recognized by CSDI, but all are recognized by the Office of Student Engagement. Please email csdi@jcu.edu to learn more about how to become a CSDI-recognized student organization. 

Helping ideas become a reality

$15,000 is set aside to fund campus-wide diversity programs focused on raising awareness, knowledge, and skills promoting a culture of inclusiveness. All proposals have students as the primary audience. Please email srodezno@jcu.edu with your proposal. Proposals should include: 

  1. Name of Project
  2. Date/Time/Location (if applicable)
  3. Project Goals and Learning Goals
  4. Anticipated Itemized Budget
  5. Collaborators
  6. Evaluation Plan

Reservations

The CSDI Lounge is a multi-purpose space used by student organizations and others for meetings, studying, and socializing. Reservations for the space can be made in person at the Center or phone at 216.397.4185. Features include:

  • Movable large couches, love seats, and chairs
  • Movable coffee/study tables
  • 2 large group study tables
  • 1 large classic chalkboard, chalk, and erasers
  • 1 large white board, white board markers, and erasers
  • Flat screen television, hooked up to University’s cable system
  • 1 DVD player
  • 1 Wii console and games
  • Board games
  • Community lending library

Student Involvement Fair

The Involvement Fair happens in early fall and spring semester. Here you will be able to meet 100+ student organizations and other opportunities. This is the best place to sign up for clubs, leadership opportunities, fraternities, sororities, academic clubs, intramural sports, etc.

Don’t see a cultural that represents you or your interest?

Start your own! Click here to learn how.