Skip to main content
Dean Bonnie Gunzenhauser headshot

Bonnie Gunzenhauser joined John Carroll as Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and Professor of English in July of 2020. Prior to coming to John Carroll, she served for seven years as Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Roosevelt University in Chicago, where she also spent ten years as a faculty member before moving into administration. She holds a BA from Luther College in English, philosophy, and political science, and an MA and PhD in English from the University of Chicago. Her scholarly interests focus on the literature and culture of England’s long eighteenth century, public humanities, the emergent genres of the long eighteenth century, particularly the novel and political journalism, and the history of reading and of the book. She has edited a book, Reading in History: New Methodologies from the Anglo-American Tradition, and has published and presented widely on intersections between the humanities and the public sphere. 

Bonnie Gunzenhauser
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Professor of English
216.397.4215
bgunzenhauser@jcu.edu
 

Rodney Hessinger, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Humanities & Social Sciences
Professor, Department of History
rhessinger@jcu.edu

Mike Martin, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Sciences, Mathematics, & Health
Professor, Department of Biology
mmartin@jcu.edu

Lisa M. Shoaf, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Professional Studies
Assistant Professor, Department of Education
lshoaf@jcu.edu

 

Mary Beth Brooks, Administrative Assistant
mbrooks@jcu.edu 
216.397.4215

Karen Connell, Administrative Assistant
kconnell@jcu.edu
216.397.4287

 

Office

Location

Phone

Office of the Dean
College of Arts & Sciences

Administration Building
Dean's Annex
B-wing, Room B101 & B103

216.397.4215

 

  Email: cas@jcu.edu
  Instagram: @jcu_cas

 

 

 

Keep Exploring

Find Your Passion

Find out what John Carroll's College of Arts & Sciences has to offer